Commission on Aging Meeting Minutes for November 18<sup>th</sup>, 2019

Present:

Chair Debra Franceschini-Gatje, George Noyes, Mary Morrisroe, Sheila Silverman, LynnMarie Wieland, Laura Giovannoli, Cathleen Savery, Andrea Beebe Advisor: Karen Gaudian, Tony Phillips LSW Absent: Marion Freer (passed on)

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by Chair.

A moment of silence was held in Marion Freer's memory.

George Noyes moved that the meeting minutes of the November meeting be accepted as written. Linda Giovanelli seconded the motion. All in favor. Motion approved.

Fiscal review showed a balance of \$17k in our account. The fiscal year runs from July 1<sup>st</sup>-June 30<sup>th</sup>.

The Chair discussed the new open positions to our commission. She asked that members consider if they would like to hold the following offices such as Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer. Officers will be elected at the December meeting. Each interested commissioner will be allowed a three minute verbal presentation to the commission for those interested in any open position. A vote to each position will take place after the presentations and the new officers will be announced. The chair has asked that those who are interested in any officer position email her prior to our next meeting please.

Founders Hall requested a scholarship grant from the COA. Sheila made a motion to approve. Cathleen seconded the motion. All in favor. Motion approved.

At the December meeting if time permits, we will consider how the new Leir grant and remaining funds should be utilized. The Commission must review its Mission, Brain Storm ideas and Prioritize how it plans future activities as there will no longer be a Speaker Series in 2020 for the COA.

George agreed to bring the Senior Guide Books to the Town Hall information office for replenishment.

Dean Miller, Chair of Meals on Wheels and Meg Whitbeck, RVNA Registered Dietician and Food Educator spoke about How to Live a Healthy Lifestyle for Longevity.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Debra Franceschini-Gatje, Meeting Secretary