Conservation Commission

The Ridgefield Conservation Commission was established in 1962 by Town Ordinance after enabling legislation was adopted by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1961. The Commission includes the Invasives Committee and the Flood and Erosion Control Board. The duties of the commission include the following:

  • Looking after the Town's open space including trail maintenance, posting and protecting.
  • Acting in an advisory capacity to Planning and Zoning Commission and Inland Wetlands Board on the impact of development on the environment.
  • Adding lands to the Town's inventory of open space by acquisition and by encouraging donations.

About The Commission

The Ridgefield Conservation Commission consists of nine volunteer Ridgefield residents (and two alternates) who serve the town for staggered three-year terms. Commissioners are appointed by the Board of Selectmen to devote their efforts to the sound development, conservation, supervision and regulation of the town's natural resources including water resources. 

The commission has a Conservation Enforcement Officer to act as the commission's agent in the enforcement of the Open Space Use Ordinance.

How to Reach Us

The commission maintains an office on the second floor of the Town Hall Annex, 66 Prospect Street, staffed by a part-time administrator. The office is open to the public during the month of August on Tuesday and Thursday from 9 am to 1 pm. You can also reach us as follows:

Commission Members

Name Title
James Coyle Chair
Susan Baker Member
Eric Beckenstein Member
Timothy Bishop Member
Carroll Brewster Member
Dave Cronin Member
Jack Kace Member
Alan Pilch Member
Kitsey Snow Member
Daniel Levine Alternate
Benjamin Oko Alternate